Home > Animation, Cinema, Illustration, Technology > The Scout’s Briefing – This week’s discoveries

The Scout’s Briefing – This week’s discoveries

I think of making this a permanent column here.

1. I could subscribe my blog on blog communities sites to increase traffic
Yup. Silly of me for not thinking of it before. But after reading Problogger’s article about increasing traffic I went right away and put my blog on all the sites he mentioned and my traffic did indeed increase. Thanks you, new visitors from near and far.

2. Illustrator Josh Holinaty
He’s one of those artists I like in first glance. His works inspire me and I love his style. I found out about him by reading this Kitsune Noir post.

3. The Fourth Kind Trailer
Dan brought to my attention the trailer for this new crazy film starring Milla Jovovich. It’s supposed to be a documenting and dramatizing strange cases of alien abductions in Nome, Alaska. In the trailer, the victims claimed they see a white owl looking at them, which they link to the abduction. Strange enough, my late grandmother once mentioned seeing an owl in the window and linked it to death. Oh well. Anyway, the trailer is really worth watching. I liked how it was produced.

4. Bored to Death title animation
Found out in The Art of the Title Sequence. Bored to Death is a new comedy series about a writer that turns to the private detective business. Click here to watch.

5. The evolution of Apple ads
Found here on the Web Designer Depot website.

6. The new Chrome themes really suck
I do not endorse calling the mere replacement of the background image a “theme”. And that’s why the new feature in Google Chrome browsers suck. Don’t get me wrong, I’m addicted to Chrome, but the Firefox themes are way better, because they really change the way your browser look, including icons and sizes of menus. But I’m sure they’ll get there eventually with Chrome too. In the meantime, I’m sticking with the regular light blue theme.

7. And finally, I uploaded my demoreel on Vimeo. No more annoying Aniboom embedding crap.

Well, that’s it for this week. Have a fantastic weekend everyone.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

